Safety Award Winner

2020 Safety Award Winner: Quarry Division 5,000-10,000 Employee Hours Branscome Corporation, Lee/Bickford Pit

Virginia Mineral Safety Award nominations are due by June 17, 2022. See memo »

Mineral Mining and the Virginia Transportation Construction Alliance (VTCA) sponsor the annual Virginia Mineral Mine Safety Awards, a very successful program that recognizes companies and mineral miners for outstanding safety achievements in Virginia’s mineral mining industry.

As part of the safety award program, mine company individuals reaching 15-, 20-, 25-, 30-, 35-, 40-, and 45-years without a lost time injury milestones may be recognized. The individual nomination form will be available in the spring. Please participate in the program by nominating your employees for reaching a specific milestone. For questions about the safety award program, please contact our Training/Certification Program. Mineral Mining and VTCA look forward to your participation.

The company award program follows the same procedures as it has over the past few years: companies no not need to submit an application for the mine company awards. We determine the winners based on the previous years’ data for all mines within a category.

  • Quarry category will include the following 4 award ranges: 0 to 25,000 employee hours; 25,000 to 50,000 employee hours; 50,000 to 75,000 employee hours; and, 75,000 and above employee hours.
  • Open pit category will include the following 4 award ranges: 0 to 5,000 employee hours; 5,000 to 10,000 employee hours; 10,000 to 30,000 employee hours; and, 30,000 and above employee hours.

The Virginia Mineral Mine Safety Award will provide an incentive to your employees to work with care, and will also instill pride in those responsible for a winning effort. We hope that you will participate in this safety program.

Safety Award Winner

2020 Safety Award Winner: Quarry Division 25,000-50,000 Employee Hours Luck Stone Corporation, Powhatan Plant

In 2020, Mineral Mining recognized 58 miners who represented a cumulative total of 1,342 years working in the mineral mining industry without a lost time injury. Two individuals, Mr. Billy Rose (with Appalachian Aggregates) and Mr. Ron Hope (with Luck Stone), were recognized for 40 or more years without a lost time injury, which a remarkable achievement!

Please join us in congratulating these award winners for their hard work and for their contribution to the safety of our industry!

View Mine Safety Award Winners here »