CONTACT US

Our Location

Mineral Mining
Virginia Department of Energy
900 Natural Resources Dr, Ste 400
Charlottesville, Virginia 22903

Call us

Phone: (434) 951-6310

Report An Accident


Accidents involving serious personal injury and worker or citizen complaints are investigated promptly. The appropriate regulatory measures are taken to resolve or correct the problems.

Any SERIOUS INJURY or FATALITY taking place on a mine property must be reported whether related to the mining operation or not

The report must be made directly to an employee of Mineral Mining. Messages. Voice mails, e-mails, etc. are not acceptable. When in doubt, call our Charlottesville office (available 24 hours a day for emergencies only) or your mine inspector!

CALL (434)951-6310



When do I need to contact Mineral Mining regarding a mining accident?
You must contact Mineral Mining by the quickest available means (most likely by telephone) whenever an accident occurs at a Virginia mineral mine property that involves a serious personal injury or death to any person. The accident scene must not be disturbed until after wen conducts our investigation. You must also notify us immediately upon learning that a person injured at a Virginia mineral mine has been admitted to a hospital for medical treatment.

What is a Serious Personal Injury?
The Mineral Mine Safety Act defines a serious personal injury as "any injury which has a reasonable potential to cause death or any injury other than a sprain or strain which requires an admission to a hospital for 24 hours or more for medical treatment."

Non-serious accidents or Medical Treatment
Mineral Mining encourages you to use our electronic forms submittal system, e-Forms Center. Also, non-serious accidents may be reported in paper. Our permitting forms are available here for downloading and printing. Printable forms should be mailed or faxed back to the Division. These forms may also be obtained by contacting us.

Here is a copy of the accident form for your use.



File a Complaint


Incidents involving serious personal injury and worker or citizen complaints are investigated promptly. The appropriate regulatory measures are taken to resolve or correct the problems. Read our Citizens Guide to Complaint Resolution here »

Each Mine Inspector is assigned the responsibility of investigating mineral mine related complaints that are registered within their territory or area. Complaints may be registered for worker safety concerns or for reclamation and environmental concerns. Complaints may be lodged with the site mine inspector or by contacting our office .

For worker safety complaints, we hold the name of the complainant in confidence and it is exempt from release under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act. The mineral mine operator is required by the Mineral Mine Safety laws of Virginia to post information describing how to file a complaint. A sign may be useful for this purpose and a sample sign is available for use, reference and printing. Mine operators may contact their mine inspector or our office for a copy of the sign that can be posted at the mine.

In an effort to provide prompt service Mineral Mining has set a goal of contacting the complainant within 5 days of receipt of a complaint. Most often the complainant is contacted the day of the complaint. When a complaint is filed we will conduct an investigation and file a written report of findings. The mine operator and the complainant are provided a copy of the complaint investigation report. Complainant confidentiality is maintained in accordance with the laws and regulations.

Our Staff



J. Phil Skorupa
Director

434-951-6310
phil.skorupa@energy.virginia.gov

Paul Saunders
Safety/Permitting Manager

(804)519-7440
paul.saunders@energy.virginia.gov

Debbie McGann
Administrative/Permitting

(434) 951-6313
deborah.mcgann@energy.virginia.gov

Jeff Stewart
Training/Certification

(434)951-6314
jeff.stewart@energy.virginia.gov

Renee Savage
Administrative/Training

(434) 951-6313
renee.savage@energy.virginia.gov




Chrissi Wood-Smith
Technical Services

434-951-6322
chrissi.wood-smith@energy.virginia.gov

Sarah Hamm
Permit Engineer/ Mine Inspector

(276)233-2475
sarah.hamm@energy.virginia.gov




Bentley Smith
Permit Engineer/ Mine Inspector

(540) 425-3548
bentley.smith@energy.virginia.gov




Willie Cochran
Lead Mine Inspector

(540)382-4680
willie.cochran@energy.virginia.gov

James Schafer
Lead Mine Inspector

(804)912-6898
james.schaefer@energy.virginia.gov

Eric Snowadzky
Mine Inspector

(276)433-1754
eric.snowadzky@energy.virginia.gov

Matt Kretsch
Mine Inspector

(540) 280-3603
matt.kretsch@energy.virginia.gov

Bruce Hutcheson
Mine Inspector

(540) 937-2644
bruce.hutcheson@energy.virginia.gov

Vernon Harris
Mine Inspector

(434) 589-4253
vernon.harris@energy.virginia.gov

Jon Steinbauer
Orphaned Lands

(434) 315-0305
jon.steinbauer@energy.virginia.gov