Our Location

Geology and Mineral Resources
Virginia Department of Energy
900 Natural Resources Dr, Ste 500
Charlottesville, Virginia 22903

Call us

Phone: (434) 951-6341

Our Staff



David Spears
State Geologist

434-951-6350
david.spears@energy.virginia.gov

Matt Heller
Geologic Mapping

434-951-6350
matt.heller@energy.virginia.gov

Anne Grassler
Administrative

(434) 951-6367
anne.grassler@energy.virginia.gov

William Lassetter
Economic Geology

(434)951-6361
william.lassetter@energy.virginia.gov

Patrick Finnerty
Geologist

(434) 951-6362
patrick.finnerty@energy.virginia.gov

Marcie Occhi
Geologist

(434) 951-6323
marcie.occhi@energy.virginia.gov

Anne Witt
Geologic Hazards

(434) 951-6319
anne.witt@energy.virginia.gov

Wendy Kelly
Geologist

(434) 951-6349
wendy.kelly@energy.virginia.gov

Katie Lang
Geologist

(434)951-6346
katie.lang@energy.virginia.gov

David Hawkins
Geologist

(434)951-6326
david.hawkins@energy.virginia.gov

Holly Mangum
Geologist

(434)951-6317
holly.mangum@energy.virginia.gov

Bill Swanger
Geologist

(434)951-6364
william.swanger@energy.virginia.gov

Trent Walker
Geologist

(434)951-6364
trent.walker@energy.virginia.gov

Lauren Williams
GIS Specialist

(434)951-6317
lauren.williams@energy.virginia.gov

Catherine Brown
GIS Specialist

434-951-6368
catherine.brown@energy.virginia.gov

Trevor Gunn
Geologist

(434)951-6349
trevor.gunn@energy.virginia.gov

Chrissi Wood-Smith
Technical Services

434-951-6322
chrissi.wood-smith@energy.virginia.gov