CONTACT US

Our Location

Coal Mine Safety
Virginia Department of Energy

3405 Mountain Empire Road
Big Stone Gap, Virginia 24219

Call us

Administration, (276) 523-8226
Certification and Training Program, (276) 523-8224
Enforcement and Licensing, (276) 523-8229
Operator Assistance, (276) 523-8229
Main Fax: (276) 523-8239

Report An Accident


Accidents involving serious personal injury and worker or citizen complaints are investigated promptly. The appropriate regulatory measures are taken to resolve or correct the problems.

Any SERIOUS INJURY or FATALITY taking place on a mine property must be reported whether related to the mining operation or not.

The report must be made directly to an employee of Coal Mine Safety. Messages, voice mails, e-mails, etc. are not acceptable. When in doubt, call our main office or your mine inspector!

CALL (276)523-8228



When do I need to contact Coal Mine Safety regarding a mining accident?
You must contact Coal Mine Safety, either the main office or your mine inspector, by the quickest available means (most likely by telephone) whenever an accident occurs at a Virginia mineral mine property that involves a serious personal injury or death to any person. The accident scene must not be disturbed until after we conduct an accident investigation. You must also notify us immediately upon learning that a person injured at a Virginia mineral mine has been admitted to a hospital for medical treatment.

What is a Serious Personal Injury?
The Mineral Mine Safety Act defines a serious personal injury as "any injury which has a reasonable potential to cause death or any injury other than a sprain or strain which requires an admission to a hospital for 24 hours or more for medical treatment."



File a Complaint


Any person aware of a violation of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia may report a violation to a mine inspector or to any other employee of Coal Mine Safety .  You may file the complaint in writing, by telephone, via e-mail, in person, at the mine, to a mine inspector, or at our office.     

During the hours of 7:00 am - 5:00 pm, Monday through Thursday, you may call Coal Mine Safety at (276) 523-8235.

After normal work hours, weekends, or holidays you may call the Big Stone Gap office at (276) 523-8100 and leave a message on the answering machine.

The telephone numbers Coal Mine Safety inspectors and supervisors are posted at each mine, or refer to "How to Contact Us - State Employee Directory Search" on our Web Page.

All health and safety complaints received by Coal Mine Safety will be investigated promptly and thoroughly with a complete report of investigation rendered to the Chief.

The identity of the complainant will remain anonymous.

Our Staff



Randy Moore
Chief

(276) 523-8226
marshall.moore@energy.virginia.gov

Terri Gibson
Certification/Hearings

(276) 523-8225
terri.gibson@energy.virginia.gov

Eva Stanley
Certification/Hearings

(276) 523-8149
eva.stanley@energy.virginia.gov

Mike Willis
Technical Services

(276) 523-8231
mike.willis@energy.virginia.gov

Sammy Flemming
Inspections

(276) 523-8228
sammy.flemming@energy.virginia.gov

Chris Whitt
Emergency Coordinator

(276) 298-5896
chris.whitt@energy.virginia.gov


Allen Clark
Training Specialist

(276) 523-9624
allen.clark@energy.virginia.gov


Donna Mullins
Adminstrative

(276) 523-8229
donna.mullins@energy.virginia.gov


Mine Inspectors

Andy Sawyers
Venitilation

(276) 206-0538
andy.sawyers@energy.virginia.gov

Rusty Ward
Electrical

(276) 963-3919
rusty.ward@energy.virginia.gov

Glendon Sturgill
Roof Control

(276) 523-8279
glendon.sturgill@energy.virginia.gov

Ken Johnson
Roof Control

(276) 762-9827
ken.johnson@energy.virginia.gov

Clarence Begley
Electrical

(276) 523-8226
clarence.begley@energy.virginia.gov

Rick Taylor
Ventilation

(276) 523-9693
richard.taylor@energy.virginia.gov

Don Riffe
Roof Control

(276) 970-3292
don.riffe@energy.virginia.gov

Hersh Hayden
Mine Inspector

(276) 393-4267
hersh.hayden@energy.virginia.gov

William Stevens
Mine Inspector

(276) 523-8226
william.stevens@energy.virginia.gov



Spencer Lee
Mine Inspector

(276) 523-8226
spencer.lee@energy.virginia.gov



Tim Martin
Mine Inspector

(276) 523-8226
tim.martin@energy.virginia.gov



Danny Mullins
Mine Inspector

(276) 523-8226
danny.mullins@energy.virginia.gov



Dennis Honaker
Mine Inspector

(276) 880-5896
dennis.honaker@energy.virginia.gov



Sidney Crabtree
Mine Inspector

(276) 979-6339
sidney.crabtree@energy.virginia.gov



Vernon Johnson
Mine Inspector

(276) 791-1308
vernon.johnson@energy.virginia.gov



Joey Musick
Mine Inspector

(276) 873-5194
joey.musick@energy.virginia.gov



George Owens
Mine Inspector

(276) 523-8226
george.owens@energy.virginia.gov



Terry Ratliff
Mine Inspector

(276) 498-7196
terri.ratliff@energy.virginia.gov



Eddie Taylor
Mine Inspector

(276) 523-8226
eddie.taylor@energy.virginia.gov



Anthony Sturgill
Technical Support

(276) 523-8287
anthony.sturgill@energy.virginia.gov