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PHOTO ID REQUIRED 

 

PRIOR TO SCHEDULING EXAM MUST PROVIDE LETTER OF GOOD STANDING 
FROM RECIPROCATING STATE 

 
 

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification 
of coal mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515. through 
§45.2-534. in which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of 
administering the certification program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 
4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal 
miner examinations and certifications. 
 

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:*First Class Mine Foreman (Coal) -KENTUCKY 
RECIPROCITY 
Renewal must be in accordance with the BCME continuing education requirement. 
 
THIS CERTIFICATION AUTHORIZES THE FIRST CLASS MINE FOREMAN - UG TO: 

 Perform all duties required by State and Federal laws and codes as certified mine 
foreman/examiner 

 Record findings on pre-shift, on-shift and weekly examinations 
NOTE:  

• This certification may be used to perform pre/shift – on/shift examinations at shaft/slope 
locations. 

• Hold General Miner and Gas Detection Certification which will be issued as part of this 
certification 

 
 

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 
 Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination 

o Note: Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are 
due no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee 
that an opening will be available. 

 Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced 
Training acceptable) 

 Copy of current Kentucky foreman card  
 Letter of “good standing” from state of Kentucky 
 Reciprocity can only be used one time to achieve certification 

 

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  A score of 85% on all elements of the examination. 
Applicants must pass all elements of the First Class Mine Foreman or Surface Foreman reciprocity 
examination in order for Virginia to reciprocity Kentucky foreman certification. If the examination 
is failed, then the applicant may submit fee for retake of the examination 10 working days after the 
notification letter has been sent.   If the applicant does not pass on the second try, the entire foreman 
examination (either First Class Mine Foreman or Surface Foreman) must be taken under the 
regular examination process for foreman certification.                           

 
BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS 
CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 
http://www.energy.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm 

FIRST CLASS MINE FOREMAN – (COAL) 
Kentucky Reciprocal Agreement 



Revised 01-19-22 

ELEMENTS OF EXAM                                                                   NUMBER OF QUESTIONS 
 First Class Mine Foreman 

 Mining Laws (ML) (UG)                                                                  50 
 

 Records (UG)       
      Pre-shift/On-shift (PO)   

Weekly Examination (WE) 
Practical Exercises   (PS) 

- Anemometer 
■ Gas Detection (GD) 
 

 
RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS: 
 First Class Mine Foreman 

 Mining Laws of Virginia ($25.00) 
 First Class Mine Foreman Study Guide ($30.00) 
 

 
The above mentioned study materials are available at the Virginia Energy’s Big Stone Gap 
Office, (276) 523-8100. 
 
*4 hours of biannual continuing education required to update this certification. 
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