

BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS http://www.energy.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm

FIRST CLASS MINE FOREMAN (COAL)

PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the <u>Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia</u> establishes requirements for certification of coal mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515. through §45.2-534. in which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and certifications.

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION: *First Class Mine Foreman (COAL)

This certification authorizes the holder to:

- Perform all duties required by State and Federal laws and codes as certified mine foreman/examiner
- Record findings on pre-shift, on-shift and weekly examinations

NOTE:

■ This certification may be used to perform pre/shift – on/shift examinations at shaft/slope locations.

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:

- Application (BCME-1) and \$40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
 - Note: Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee that an opening will be available.
- 23 years of age
- Five years coal mining experience, three of which shall be underground. NOTE: Experience must be submitted within 5 years of passing the examination. After 5 years records are destroyed. Must reapply if future certification is desired.
- Three years credit will be granted for Mining Engineering Degree from an approved four year college (copy of degree required) or two years credit for a degree in Mining Technology (certificate required) (NOTE: at least two of the remaining years experience must be underground mining experience).
- Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced Training acceptable)
- Hold a General Miner Certification as part of this certification (A card will be issued)

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: A score of 85% on each element of the examination

ELEMENTS OF EXAM NUMBER OF QUESTIONS ■ Dust (DU) 20 • Electrical (EL) 20 Explosives (EX) 20 • Fires and Explosions (FX) 25 Haulage (HA) 20 Mine Gases (MG) 20 Mining Laws (ML) 50 Ventilation (VE) 25 • Federal Regulations (FR) 25

Records

Pre-shift/On-shift (PO)

Weekly Examination (WE)

Practical Exercises (PS)

- Anemometer
- Map ventilated per instructions (MA)
- Gas Detection practical demonstration

RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:

- Title 30 CFR Parts 48, 70, 75 (Included in study guide)
- Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia (\$25.00)
- BCME Requirements (No Charge)
- Practical Map (No charge) and Records (Included in study guide)
- First Class Mine Foreman Study Guide (\$30.00)
- First Aid For Miners Study Guide (\$15.00)
- Responding to a Mine Emergency (\$7.50)

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Virginia Energy's Big Stone Gap Office, (276) 523-8100.

^{*4} hours of biannual continuing education required to update this certification.

^{*}Contact Mountain Empire Community College (MECC) 276-523-2400 for class information.