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PHOTO ID REQUIRED 
 
Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal 
mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515. through §45.2-534. in which 
the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification 
program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which  
set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and 
certifications. 
 
CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  Automatic Elevator Operator (Coal) 
This certification authorizes the holder to perform automatic elevator operator duties as required by the 
manufacturer’s specification. 
 
APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 

 Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to observation 
 One year of coal mining experience.  NOTE: Experience must be submitted within 5 

years of passing the examination.  After 5 years records are destroyed.  Must 
reapply if future certification is desired. 

 Authorization on company stationery from company official for DM Representative to use 
company automatic elevator for the observation 

 Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced 
Training acceptable) 

 Demonstrate knowledge and ability to use an automatic elevator in accordance with 
manufacturer’s specifications. This demonstration is observed and documented by a DM 
Representative. 

 Hold a General Miner Certification  
 Gas Detection – practical demonstration 

 
For more information, contact the Big Stone Gap Office at 276-523-8100. 
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