

# ADVANCED FIRST AID INSTRUCTOR PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the <u>Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia</u> establishes requirements for certification of coal mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515. through §45.2-534. in which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and certifications.

## **CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:** Advanced First Aid Instructor

This certification authorizes the holder to conduct required advanced first aid classes to meet the Requirement of §45.2-863.

## **APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:**

- Application (BCME-1) and \$40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination if examination is required
- Hold a valid First Aid Instructor certification from the American Red Cross, National Safety Council, Virginia Emergency Medical Services or as other wise approved by the Chief, Division of Mines
- Possess CPR Certification (American Heart Association or American Red Cross)
- <u>Submit résumé of teaching experience signed and dated</u>
- Attend 8 hour Instructor Equivalency Training Course conducted by a DM certified Advanced First Aid Instructor

**EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:** Applicants who have adequate first aid training and instructor experience will not be required to take an examination. Individuals wishing to become certified to teach Advanced First Aid but have no valid card must complete requirements as determined by the Chief. All applicants for advanced first aid instructors certifications must be monitored by a DM Representative prior to issuance of Advanced First Aid Instructor certification and those may be asked to co-teach a class with a DM instructor.

#### PRIOR TO CONDUCTING A CLASS:

- Instructors must have completed all Board of Coal Mining Examiners requirements for Advanced First Aid Instructor certification except "Monitoring."
- Notify the Regulatory Boards Administrator in writing, at least 10 working days prior to class so monitoring can be scheduled:
  - Instructor's name
  - Projected number of students (if possible)
  - Location, date, time of scheduled class

-continued on back-

- Provide Regulatory Boards Administrator with class roster and schedule a tentative examination date
- Have students complete application DM-BCME-1 and submit \$40.00 fee (checks made payable to Treasurer of Virginia)
- Submit DM-BCME-5 Advanced First Aid Practical Stations and CPR (written and practical) to DM at end of class or on exam date (must be presented prior to certification)
- Student attendance sheet must be submitted by instructor at the end of class or on exam date. This must contain student's name, DOB, address and each date attended.

#### **RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:**

- American Red Cross Emergency Response Manual
- Advanced First Aid Instructor's Guide
- BCME Advanced First Aid Requirement Sheet (No Charge)

# The above mentioned study materials are available at the Virginia Energy's Big Stone Gap Office, 276-523-8100.

\*Applicant shall maintain certification through teaching one initial or refresher first aid training course for DMME within a two-year period.