

# ADVANCED FIRST AID

# PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the <u>Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia</u> establishes requirements for certification of coal mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515. through §45.2-534. in which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and certifications.

## **CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:** Advanced First Aid

This certification authorizes the holder to meet standards for emergency care in the coal mining industry required by \$45.2-863..

## **APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:**

- Application (BCME-1) and \$40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
  - Note: Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee that an opening will be available.
- 24 hour Advanced First Aid course taught by an Advanced First Aid Instructor (class must be completed and paperwork submitted prior to taking an exam)
- Hold a General Miner Certification Surface or Underground

# NOTE: TRANSFER OF EMT/FIRST RESPONDER CERTIFICATION TO ADVANCED FIRST AID MAY BE ACCOMPLISHED BY:

- Application (BCME-1) and \$40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
- Provide verification of valid EMT/First Responder certification issued by EMS-VA
- Attend 8 hours Advanced First Aid Reciprocity Training Course conducted by a DM certified Advanced First Aid Instructor
- Hold a General Miner Certification Surface or Underground

**EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:** The examination for certification in Advanced First Aid requires a passing score of 80% on the written sections of the examination.

## NOTE: <u>If exam is taken three (3) times without a passing score or if certification is revoked due</u> to not completing the continuing education requirements, the applicant must retake the 24 hour <u>Advanced First Aid course.</u>

#### **ELEMENTS OF EXAM**

#### NUMBER OF QUESTIONS 20

Section 1 (F1)

- Respiratory Emergencies, Respiratory System and Heart Attacks
- Legal Considerations, Disease Transmission and Emergency Scenes
- Resuscitation Masks/ORO Airways, Wounds and Burns

# ELEMENTS OF EXAM

#### Section 2 (F2) Circulatory System

- Control of Bleeding Recognition and Treatment (External and Internal)
- Shock Recognition and Treatment

#### Section 3 (F3) Musculoskeletal System

- Abdominal Injuries
- Chest Injuries
- Dislocations
- Face & Throat Injuries
- Fractures
- Head Injuries

#### Section 4 (F4)

Accidental Poisonings Substance Abuse Patient Assessment Environmental Emergencies

- Cold and Heat Emergencies
- Stings & Bites

## **Emergency** Rescue

- Electrical Circuits
- Hazardous Materials
- Irrespirable Atmosphere
- Machinery Entrapment
- Roof & Rib Entrapment

#### Sudden Illness

- Diabetes Hypoglycemia and Hyperglycemia
- Epilepsy and Seizures
- Stroke (F.A.S.T) Recognition and Treatment
- Substance Abuse
- Anaphylaxis and Allergic Reactions

#### NOTE: Each student must successfully complete:

- Course in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) i.e., heart saver or other four-hour equivalent
- Practical examinations which includes forearm, lower leg, backboard

#### **RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:**

BCME Requirements (No Charge)

# The above mentioned study materials are available at the Virginia Energy's Big Stone Gap Office, 276-523-8100.

\*4 hours Advanced First Aid continuing education annually will update this certification. \*Contact Mountain Empire Community College (MECC) 276-523-2400 for class information.

NOTE: A <u>current</u> EMT or First Responder Card issued by Virginia Emergency Medical Services (EMS) may be submitted in lieu of Advanced First Aid continuing education.

- Lower & Upper Extremities Injuries
- Pelvic Injuries
- Spinal Injuries
- Sprains
- Transporting Patients

20

NUMBER OF QUESTIONS

# 20